No Tags Found!

shalinii
Hi all,

I work for a private organization. I am in my 28th week of pregnancy. I have been working in this organization for 1yr 8 months. My heads(2) are very nice people, but my TL is not such an understanding person. my baby shower is on july 15th and after that till a few weeks before delivery I have asked for work from home. After that I will take my 3 months of maternity leave, this is what I have requested. But my TL would let me, he says Then I need to work more that that I do at office.I basically wanted to go home coz of medical conditions and pains arising out of pregnancy. I said I would do the same work there but he would't accept. Then he said go by ur 9th month, which is not possible as my Dr has asked me not to travel after 32 weeks. In 8th month they cant keep a baby shower n take me home. So what should I do now. I cant take up this torture. he tortures n puts much pressure for no reason. So i've decided to say my heads, if they will let me do the same wrk then i'll do wrk from home or i'll ask them to relieve me.I'll resign. Now will they relieve me in a weeks time.Is there any law or rule that says they can't keep a pregnant women from resigning or going away for maternity in short notice. I have informed my TL that i need leave from july 15th 3 weeks back. Please help.

From India, Madras
essykkr

There is protection under Maternity Act, a women can not be terminated during pregnancy. Any Employer can not terminate a women, during this period, to avoid maternity benefit to such women.
And also as per provision of Act , you can ask for 6 Weeks pre-delivery maternity leaves, which the employer can not deny.
would suggest you, please speak to your Head and TL politely and make them understand the situation, ask them to work from home, if you are able to do it from home. still not agree then give them notice of Doctor with delivery date and no need to come, you have immunity to the termination.
regards

rreddygk

Hi Shalini,