No Tags Found!

Dharti Bhiwgade
Hi, I am confused about my career. I have 2 years of experience as a hospital hr executive. But now I want to change my hospital field. I tried other companies and all but I don't find so much and now I am still in trouble.
From India, Pune
Dinesh Divekar

Dear Dharti,

After spending two years in the hospital as HR Executive, why do you wish to change your industry? What is the reason? Why have you developed distaste for the hospital industry?

To grow in one's career, it is important to gain the general knowledge associated with a particular industry. Secondly, if you continue to work in the same industry, then you will come to know the ecosystem of that industry. While functional knowledge is important, as you grow in your career, in future, you will be assessed for your industry's knowledge also. If you change your industry, then you will lose your competitive advantage.

After the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the healthcare industry will continue to grow. Many big industrial houses are yet to enter this sector. However, in future, you will find that they too have entered. This will increase your job opportunities.

Therefore, review your decision of the change of industry. Stick to one industry to grow!

All the best!

Dinesh Divekar

From India, Bangalore
saswatabanerjee

each industry has a different requirement and a different way to handle problems.
Healthcare is different from manufacturing industry so your change will be difficult. You will either need to apply for entry level jobs or go and work for a smaller company who are willing to take someone from a different vertical to save cost or attract talent not otherwise available to them.

While I agree that healthcare HR means you will always need to stay within that particular industry, but why exactly do you want to change? What difficult or danger / risk do you see in the future?

From India, Mumbai
drsivaglobalhr

Dear Colleague,