Madhubala Rana
An employee in our office slapped his colleague and left the job. Being an HR Officer, I sent him a mail to report to office within 3 days but he did not respond to the reminder.
Kindly advice what further action I should take in this matter? It would be very helpful if your could help me to draft a notice letter.

From India, Ahmedabad
Shailesh Parikh_HR Pro

I assume this is not a case of a workman.
Issue him a notice to report on duty as he has been remaining absent without intimation and/ or prior approval which is in violation of company's policy/ rule (assume there is explicit policy/ rules in this regard) applicable to you. If you don't report by.....(give a specific date) it will be assumed that you have relinquished the employment and management will take appropriate action in this matter.
Action for his misconduct of physical assault on colleague may be dealt separately once he reports.

From India, Mumbai
Dinesh Divekar

Physical assault at the workplace or any other place is illegal. Whatever the differences or whatever provocation may be, these need to be handled professionally.
At this stage, you may order domestic enquiry to investigate the incident. First, design the terms of references for the enquiry and decide who will conduct the enquiry. After that send an official letter to the delinquent employee to depose before the enquiry. In the letter, write clearly when an enquiry will be conducted, where it will be conducted, who will conduct it etc. Send the letter by RPAD.
If the delinquent employee fails to depose before the enquiry, order the enquiry once more after a one month period. If the employee fails to depose second time also, you may take action ex parte and terminate his services.
Larger issues: -
What I have outlined is only the administrative procedure. Nevertheless, there are larger issues to be looked at. As of now, the focus is on the individual but at the same time, we need to give our focus on the organisation.