No Tags Found!

rainanil
I have been working with a company for almost 13 years now. About 5 years back the company was taken over by other company.
Now i have been asked to leave and now i come to know that the old management had tied up with LIC and the gratuity amount ceiling is 3.5 lakhs where as my entitlement is 6.3 lakhs
the EHRMS sheet also shows 6.3 lakhs as gratuity accrued
However the present management now says that old management has done the tie up and i dont fall into their system of gratuity
Is there a way out, can i challenge them in a court of law on not informing me and i have saved the screen shot of the EHRMS report showing gratuity accumulation as 6.3 lakhs
Pls guide

From India, Bangalore
swastik73

Dear Anil,
The details are given u/s 4 of Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972 as follows:
(3) The amount of gratuity payable to an employee shall not exceed three lakhs and fifty thousand rupees.
(5) Nothing in this section shall affect the right of an employee to receive better terms of gratuity under any award or agreement or contract with the employer.
Further in the case between Pattathurila K. Damodaran v. M. Kassim Kanju, it was held that by change of ownership, the relationship of the employer and employees subsists and the new employer cannot escape from the liability of payment of gratuity to the employees.
Hence, you will have to prove that you are entitled to better terms of gratuity as per Section 4(5) and the contract for better terms of gratuity was not changed/changed but no initimation was given to you during the change of employer.
Regards,
SC

From India, Thane
rainanil
thanks for the comment
the actual problem is that the old employer has tied up with LIC wherein the upper limit has been fixed at 3.5 lakhs
But they didnot intimate anybody about this change