No Tags Found!

Anonymous
I’ve been working for an organization since 1st Aug 2016 and now they are planning to move the process along with some employees to another organization. Because of this, I have been asked to resign from the current organization and accept the offer letter from the 2nd organization.
As I’ve already completed 4 years 5month and the termination is being initiated by the employer am I eligible to get Gratuity?
Is there a labor law that I can refer to?
Thanks in advance!

From India, Patna
shobhit-kumar-mittal

For proper reply, please clarify :-
1. How the move in process is being affected ?
2 What did the employer write when they asked you to resign ?
3. Any other communication between you and your employer
Prime facie, even if you are asked to resign, it should be considered as transfer with continuity of service and you would be eligible for gratuity from the new employer.
- S.K. Mittal

From India, Faridabad
Amar27k
Thanks Shobhit,
I would be doing the same work under new employer.
They have said I would be receiving a termination letter from current employer and will be offered an offer letter which will be effective from next day from new employer so there won’t be any gap on my service period.
There was no other communication apart from this.
They are not ready to pay gratuity neither they say that new employer will pay gratuity. They say this experience will not continue to be considered for gratuity.
Please advise. Thanks!

From India, Patna
umakanthan53

Dear Amar,