No Tags Found!

karan-malik
The following was written in my offer letter at the time of signing.

"You agree and undertake to serve the Company for a minimum period of 1 year from the date of your appointment with the Company. In the event of breach of
this condition, you agree and undertake to reimburse the Company 3 month’s salary against the cost incurred by the Company towards your training and/or otherwise, which shall be without prejudice to any other rights that may be available to the Company under applicable law"

Due to multiple reasons such as a lot of micromanagement and toxic work culture I have now decided to resign after 6 months of employment.

Can this bond be enforced? They have a 3-month long notice period and I'm concerned if this amount will be recovered from my FnF. What are the options I have to make sure I leave without any damages?
P.S. I am an experienced professional and no training whatsoever was imparted to me. The sole probable reason for enforcing such a bond was due to high attrition prevailing in the division I joined.
TIA

From India, Mumbai
aussiejohn

Why did you sign an agreement with such onerous conditions?

This same subject is coming up here on CiteHR almost every week, sometimes more than once. The questions I ask is why are people subjecting themselves to these problems?

First and foremost, you must do your due diligence on the company to make sure that is the right place for you - long before you sign any documents which will bind you to the company. Too many people here on CiteHR are joining companies, only to find out once they are on staff, it isn't what they wanted. Who's fault is that?

At the end of the day, a contract is a contract - and almost all contracts have penalties for non-performance. If you feel you cannot fulfil the conditions of a contract - THEN DON'T SIGN IT - and save yourself a lot of heartache and misery.

From Australia, Melbourne
rkn61