No Tags Found!

soumya mehta

Hello Everyone... I worked as an assistant manager in the hospitality industry (five-star hotel) for 5 years and 5 months. During this duration, I went on maternity leave twice. The first was from January 2020 to September 2020 and the Second time I went from October 2022 to February 2023. But my company did not pay me my maternity salary. Now though I have left the company in August 2023 they did not pay me my gratuity as well. So want to know how I can avail my benefits even after resigning from my company. Also want to know how can I claim this.
From India, Jabalpur
saswatabanerjee

You are eligible for Maternity Benefit.
In fact, you can claim them now if the claim is not overdue for more than 3 years (limitation act)
Even after that, you can make a claim for it to the Labour Commissioner of your area giving reason for not filing the claim on time. It is his discretion whether to accept the late application.

Maternity Leave is not (in most cases), break in service as specified in the Gratuity Act.
Therefore, in spite of being on maternity leave and therefore not having come to work physically, you were still employed in the company and therefore your period of service includes thse days.

Since you have worked for more than 5 years, you are eligible for gratuity.
You need to file a gratuity claim first to the company in Form J.
If they do not respond or give it within 30 days, you can file a compliant with the relevant authority which would be the Labour Commissioner or Chief Labour Commissioner of the area where you worked.

From India, Mumbai
Madhu.T.K

You will have to file a complaint in form N (for recovery of gratuity with the intervention of the Controlling authority). Before that please ensure that: