Anonymous
Hello dear HR friends - I am working on updating our employee handbook and want to be sure I have included all the latest amendments however, each version I am seeing is many years old and perhaps I am not looking in the right place?

Could anyone share an updated (2023) version of the Maternity Leave Policy recommended for employee handbook? Thank you in advance, I am very grateful.

From United States, Princeton
aussiejohn

I have no knowledge of US law in regard to Maternity Leave, but apart from any basic legal requirements, every organisation will set it's own policy as to how it will operate within the company.

You obviously have a policy right now - which you view as outdated. Why? If it meets legal requirements as set out by both the state of New Jersey and the US Government, then what is the problem you are trying to solve?

Talk to your senior management to verify the current policy is still relevant and move on. Take their guidance if they want changes.

We do not work for your organisation, so we are not in a position to tell you what your company should be doing.

From Australia, Melbourne
vmlakshminarayanan

Hi

Please refer the following

Some important changes under the new law:

1. The paid maternity leave in India is increased from 12 weeks to 26 weeks for working women.

2. This law is eligible for only those who work in an organization with a minimum of 10 employees.

3. The prenatal leave is also increased from 6 to 8 weeks.

4. A woman who is already a mother of 2 children is eligible for 12 weeks of maternity leave from the 3rd child.

5. If a woman adopts a child under the age of 3 months, then she is eligible for a leave of 12 weeks.