No Tags Found!

Anonymous

Dear All, I work as an HR executive in an automobile showroom, There is an employee in another department who does not want to talk to me and also turns his face whenever he sees me.

It hurts me a lot. I tried to discuss his behaviour with him several times, yet he continued to behave like this. It hurts me and also demotivates me. Please assist me in how to tackle this person and this situation.

From India, Mumbai
Dinesh Divekar

Dear member,

On reading the description of the behaviour of the employee mentioned in your post, it appears that he has a crush on you. Occasionally someone develops a strong attraction towards someone that usually lasts for a short time. Continue to ignore his glances. Live in your world and ignore his presence completely. Over a while, the attraction will fade away.

Nevertheless, if his overtures continue, then you need to remind him that gawking at a woman employee is classified as sexual harassment under the provisions of PoSH, 2013. If he does not mend his behaviour, then you will be forced to make a formal complaint. So let him not create a problem for himself.

Do you have a workplace buddy who is senior to you? Have you discussed this matter with him/her? What is his/her take on the behaviour of the employee?

You may give him a threat of making a formal complaint to his HOD. Many times, a complaint to the HOD has a telling effect.

Anyway, other members may also give different suggestions. However, do not allow your motivation or morale to suffer because of this employee. You need to show canniness. Try to be inventive in dealing with this situation.

Thanks,

Dinesh Divekar

From India, Bangalore
vmlakshminarayanan

Hi,

It is a trivial issue. Just ignore and keep move on.

Only concern is that if the above behavior of the employee affect you in terms of day to day work execution then you need to take it up further with your Superior.

From India, Madras
Anonymous

Dear All,