No Tags Found!

tmnagesh
Hi... Can we deduct the uniform costs from employee wages?
From India, Indore
rkn61

Broadly speaking, uniform is to be given to employees by Employer for maintaining
a Dress code and cost of material, stitching charges etc need to be borne by Employer.

IN addition to this, it also becomes the responsibility of Employer to grant some amount
as washing allowance.

From India, Aizawl
ommygautam

This is a good question. I would like to add few points in this matter as the matter is not that big but execution is more important for this topic. Because in many industries this issue is being raised by trade union for dress.
When we want to give dress/uniform to our employee we should think -
01. Employees are familiar with company rules and regulations along with company terms?
02. Employees thinking that it is their right to receive the dress?

In all aspects I think we have to fix some contribution from employees either 50:50 or 70:30 or something. Its advantage will be that whoever spends out of his pocket, he will handle the uniform carefully because of his own cost has been involve in this. also they keep one thinh in mind that whenever we have to ask with the management for dress then again we have to bear the same cost. yes you can do one thing you can refund their cost in same year between the gap of 06 month .
but keep note one thing in your mind that whenever you are giving any facility to your respective employee its should be delieverd in such a way so that he may think its only by the company policy or due to company management not due to their right. when any facility is treated due to right then its begaining of the Industrial dispute.

From India, Rudarpur
nanu1953