No Tags Found!

meg2673
Hello, fellow HR practitioners! I was just recently transferred from Employee Relations to Training and OD. Thus, I'm still learning details about Training and OD, which I have not been previously exposed to.
I would like to ask if there is a difference between organizational development and organization development and which between the two refers to the OD usually under the HR Department as a section or area. Or does it mean the same thing and can be used interchangeably? (Personally, I don't think so...) I have tried to research about it via the internet and reading materials but I'm still unsure about it.
If anyone can take the time to expound on the difference; I would truly appreciate it.
Thank you.
meg2673

From United States, Lexington
rbiyer
As per OB literature, organizational refers to "individual" as the unit of analysis whereas organization refers to "collective or wholesome" as the unit of analysis
else, the usage is interchangeably used everywhere with no water tight compartmentalization
this is to my knowledge

From India, Madras
sambasi

The word "ORGANISATIONAL" is an Adjective for the Noun "ORGANISATION". ("Organisational" meaning "belonging to an Organisation"). Both are correct when used in the context of "OD"
From India, Madras
Ranjith kumar

Dear Friend,
Let us go in common general thought process....
1. Organizatonal Development: Internal development in the organization.
Eg: a). Human Resources (Employee) development by conducting training programs, welfare activities, motivating through different modes etc.
b). Hierarchy Development by giving gradings
c). Infrastructure development by changing the internal infrastructure like upgrading the computers, changing the old furniture etc.
Like wise we can qoute number of developments pertaining to organizational development.