roopalidr
I am a doctor working in a corporate hospital for last two years. The hospital is rejecting maternity leave benefit citing that I am on contract basis and I am getting professional fee not the salary. Is there a rule like that if professional fees is paid maternity leave benefit is not applicable? If not so what can be done?
From India, undefined
nathrao

Your payments and other benefits would be strictly as per the contractual terms. If maternity benefits are not part of your contractual terms,then nothing much can be done about it.
From India, Pune
korgaonkar k a

Dear Roopalidr,
If you are paid as professional fees and not as salary, you are not an employee of the hospital and therefore, you are not eligible for maternity benefits under the Maternity Benefit Act.
However, if you establish that you have employee-employer relation with your hospital, you are eligible for maternity benefits under the Maternity Benefit Act. In this case you need to struggle to get your right.

From India, Mumbai
roopalidr
Thanks a lot for the information. The hospital has given me an employee code and the professional fees is also fixed per month like a salary. The hospital, I think, strategically show it as the professional fees and not the salary to avoid such claims. I think then nothing can be done. Anyway, thanks a lot.
From India, undefined
korgaonkar k a

Dear Roopalidr,
You can establish employee employer relationship on various grounds or parameters. One of them, as you mentioned is employee number or code.
Following may be other grounds / paparameters need to test.
1. I card;
2. Letter of appointment, wordings in it;
3. Duty schedule;
4. Reporting system;
5. Communication between you & hospital, between you & other colleagues / peers;
Any many more.
But as I said, you need to struggle to prove that you are an employee.

From India, Mumbai
Harsh Kumar Mehta