No Tags Found!

kiranmnit
I am a civil engineer posted as a Management Trainee in a reputed Steel Company, on the 25th of Jul last year. The training program ended this July.

On being sent to the site, I found out that a lot of unethical construction practices were being followed by our contractor, with the tacit support of the management. Any problem that occurred due to this was avoided by my manager by saying that it was actually done under my supervision, a trainee's, without my knowledge. After a while I had enough of it, so I took some photographs of the site and sent an elaborate mail to the corporate office, describing the situation here and the need for action.

I was promptly applauded by our VP( Corporate HR) for this and he promised to take action. But for some unknown reason, nothing was done and the matter was hushed up. The VP requested me to keep it a secret, so only me and the GM know about it.

Now the effect of that is showing in my appraisal. He made a very bad appraisal that the HR considered it better to extend my training to another 6 months.HE says that I am an introverted person and that my equation with the team members hasn't been good and that is the reason for this appraisal.

To be honest I am an introvert but I put in lots of hard work this one year. I worked such hours as the asked me to. I worked in the night shift for 5 weeks in a row.This is vendetta on his part. By his own admission, my GM has never tried to talk to me about my shortcomings. In fact for the last 4 months, he says he even doesn't know Where I was working.

I am worried as to what effect this would have on my career. My talk with him has been futile.Please guide me on how to deal with this.

From India, Selam
Dinesh Divekar

Dear Kiran,