No Tags Found!

manasa-gowda

Hello All, Need to know about Sandwich Leave policy, if an employee takes sick leave on Saturday and if company has a Public Holiday on Monday, will Sunday be considered as Sandwich Leave, please suggest.
From India, Bengaluru
vmlakshminarayanan

Hi,

Sandwich will apply only if the employee availed leave on Tuesday. In this case Saturday employee took leave, Sunday weekly off, Monday declared Holiday. So Sunday should be considered as weekly off only.

From India, Madras
manasa-gowda

Hello All,

I'm a HR consultant in one of the IT Consulting firm and i need to understand about Sandwich leave policy. We work for 6 days in a week and we have this sandwich leave policy in place in or company and as per that policy if any employee apply for leave on Saturday and if the extend their leave on Monday as well then Sunday is considered as leave. But now i've a case wherein Employee has applied for leave on Saturday and Monday we had holiday for Ramzan, so in this case will Sunday will be calculated as leave or not.
Can you please help me to understand how this work

From India, Bengaluru
manasa-gowda

Thank you for the clarification
From India, Bengaluru
Madhu.T.K

If Saturday was a HOLIDAY and the employee took a leave on Monday, no way the sandwich policy will apply. This is because he did not take leave on Saturday but was a holiday for the entire organisation. Sandwiching will take place only when there are holidays or weekly off in between two LEAVES. Here he has taken only one leave, ie, on Monday. Suppose, if the employee was on LEAVE on Friday, then the Holiday of Saturday and Weekly Off of Sunday would be lost for him as sandwich.

Note: Sandwich policy should not be applied arbitrarily. When the number of leave 'earned' or credited is based on the number of days' work performed by an employee is the preceding year, you cannot sandwich the leaves.

From India, Kannur
manasa-gowda