No Tags Found!

Richa87

Hi Seniors,

I have 9 years of experience in HR domain and I have been handling HR Generalist role including Payroll, Recruitment, employee engagement etc. But I feel somewhere my knowledge is lacking . As per me CiteHR is a platform to learn and self development. I will be posting my queries on a regular basis to clear my doubts and upgrade my knowledge. My 1st query is related to the working hours as per the Labour Act .

Working Hours:

General Shift:

1) 8 hours in a Day & 48 hours in a week ( 6 days working )
a) Lunch Break- 30 min after 4 hours

2) 9 hours in a Day & 48 hours in week (5 days working)
a) Lunch Break -30 min after 5 hours

Please check the above mentioned details and correct me if I'm wrong

Overtime:

Q1. What are the max number of hours allowed per day?

Q2. If an employee works half an hour extra than his original timing, will overtime be implemented in that case or should the employee work for at least one hour extra

I also need help if anyone can share HR notes or any website URL or any certification course to upgrade my knowledge.

From India, Kolkata
rkn61

Please go through the Bare Acts of all statutory Acts, so that you may get an idea.

Regarding upgradation of your knowledge, you can consider pursuing courses in Management/HR Management from AIMA (All India Management Association), New Delhi or IGNOU.
Now XLRI, Jamshedpur is conducting courses for working professionals. Also you can approach NIPM and/or ISTD for their magazines/journals.

From India, Aizawl
KK!HR

I presume you are working in a factory, in that case the Factories Act 1948 holds the key to your queries.
As regards your query on working hours is concerned, your propositions are correct. But nine hours in a day for 5 days will make on 45 hours of work and beyond 9 hours would attract OT.