No Tags Found!

hr-giriraj
Hi, I am an HR professional working with a Construction Company. I want a leave policy sample draft that complies with Maharashtra state laws for civil construction companies.
According to the information I have, the following are the leaves from April to March- Financial Year
EL- 18 days - per month 1.5 leave
SL- 8 days

Please help me with a leave policy draft.
Thank you

From India, Pune
Madhu.T.K

We have the Building and Other Construction Workers (Regulation of Employment and Condition of Services) Act, 1996, to regulate the engagement of, and to govern the service conditions of the workers engaged in Construction sites. This Act has provided for all provisions required to be followed to ensure health, welfare and safety of construction workers. However, there is no mention of leaves to be granted to contraction workers. The construction office is anyway covered by the state (Maharashtra) Shops and Commercial Establishments Act. As such the employees deployed in the office, such as clerks, accountants, managers, will follow the leave rules as per the state Shops....Act. But in respect of workers deployed in contraction sites, there seems to be no common rules for leaves.

In the absence of any provision under the BOCW Act, you can frame your own policy with 1.5 days leave for every month worked and 8 days of sick leave. It would be advisable to make the earned leaves as 1.5 days for every 30 days worked in the preceding year (calendar year) so that for the first year of employment, an employee would nt have any EL but he will earn earned leave as soon as he completes one year of service. At the same time, sick leave shall be credited to every employee on the date of joining itself but shall be allowed to be availed at the rate of 2 leaves per quarter.

From India, Kannur
suresh2511

Hi Giriraj,