No Tags Found!

S b
I completed my BSc with Physics, Mathematics, and Computer Science subjects in 2020. Initially, I stayed in my hometown to manage our family business. Later, I moved to Bangalore, where I pursued a Java course and secured a job as a TechOps Engineer in October 2022. I underwent a 6-month internship followed by 6 months of employment, but unfortunately, I was laid off in October 2023. Since then, I have been actively searching for opportunities as a backend developer but haven't received any interview calls. However, I did manage to secure a job as a Software Engineer in Hyderabad in February 2024, but due to harassment issues, I had to resign after just 2 months. Now, I find myself unemployed.

My question is, am I eligible to work in the IT industry? My resume shows a middle career gap, but I do have skills in development. However, I face challenges such as role changes after graduation and the gap in my BSc studies. If so, please advise me on how to pursue opportunities?

From India, Kanija Bhavan
Dinesh Divekar

Dear member,

The eligibility does not depend on external factors, but it depends on the individual. Yes, there is a lot of churn in the IT industry and traditional jobs are being eliminated by Artificial Intelligence (AI). Even those who have completed 10 or more years are also being laid off and are finding it difficult to get a job. This is because earlier, it was easy to get a job that matched one's skillset. But today, one has to match the skill set depending on the requirements of the job market.