phuntsog-pulger
Hello everyone,
Good morning. I wanted your help in clarifying a few doubts. I work in a school as an HR professional. We hand out contracts to our teachers beginning on Jan 1st till Dec 31st every year.
The contracts get renewed every year on 1st Jan unless they are terminated.
However, due to the pandemic the CBSE had made changes in the exam and academic schedule.
For this year (2021) we have 2 terms.
The 1st term got over on the 2nd week of December. The 2nd term begins in Jan till March/April.
The issue is that two of our teachers have submitted their resignation letters on 1st November. Our notice period is for 3 months. They are currently serving their notice period. Now I am confused, since the contract expires on the 31st December, should they be paid salary during the short winter beak of 20 days in January?
They will be rejoining work on Jan 17th till end of Feb/March. They will be paid once they rejoin till last working day, of that I am clear.
My confusion is regarding the payment of salary during the winter break (especially after 1st Jan) as their contract will have expired on 31st Dec.
Please share your suggestions. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Phuntsog Pulger.

From India, Gangtok
drsivaglobalhr

Dear Colleague,