Director, Target Hr Solutions
Shweta Yadav

Cite.Co is a repository of information and resources created by industry seniors and experts sharing their real world insights. Join Network
Dear All
My advance diwali greeing to all my brothers and sisters of this forum.
I request members kindly elucidate on the following topic.
What is PCMM (Process capability maturity model) and iits various levels.
Whether this software skill may be acquired by distance learning. What may be the course fees?.
with regards
HR Professional

From India, New Delhi

PCMM stands for People Capability Maturity Model.It is a maturity framework which consists of the following stages

Maturity Level 2 Process Areas:

1. Compensation

2. Training & Development

3. Performance Management

4. Work Environment

5. Communication & Coordination

6. Staffing

Maturity Level 3 Process Areas:

1. Participatory Culture

2. Workgroup Development

3. Competency Based Practices

4. Career Development

5. Competency Development

6. Work Force Planning

7. Competency Analysis

Maturity Level 4 Process Areas:

1. Mentoring

2. Organizational Capability Management

3. Competency Based Assets

4. Empowered Work Groups

5. Competency Integration

Maturity Level 5 Process Areas:

1. Continuous Workforce Innovation

2. Organizational Performance Alignment

3. Continuous Capability Improvement

Objectives of PCMM:

Improve the ability of the organizations to attract, develop, motivate, organize and retain talent

–Focus on Employee development

–Ensure alignment between the individuals’ personal aspirations and organizational objectives

–Clarity on career progression and growth

–Employee participation & empowerment

–Instill the best HR practices and procedures

-Transparency in practices

Process area:Set of practices which when performed helps you to meet a particular goal.


Courses are conducted to help others know about PCMM.Iam aware of 2 consulting agencies which conduct such courses:




Good Piece of Information,,, Thank You,,,
For More on that, Pls Click the following links,
Mohamed Sardhar
91 93831 93832

From India, Coimbatore
DEar Trish


Capability Maturity Model

- The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) is a methodology used to develop and refine an organization's software development process. The model describes a five-level evolutionary path of increasingly organized and systematically more mature processes. CMM was developed and is promoted by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI), a research and development center sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD). SEI was founded in 1984 to address software engineering issues and, in a broad sense, to advance software engineering methodologies. More specifically, SEI was established to optimize the process of developing, acquiring, and maintaining heavily software-reliant systems for the DoD. Because the processes involved are equally applicable to the software industry as a whole, SEI advocates industry-wide adoption of the CMM.

The CMM is similar to ISO 9001, one of the ISO 9000 series of standards specified by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The ISO 9000 standards specify an effective quality system for manufacturing and service industries; ISO 9001 deals specifically with software development and maintenance. The main difference between the two systems lies in their respective purposes: ISO 9001 specifies a minimal acceptable quality level for software processes, while the CMM establishes a framework for continuous process improvement and is more explicit than the ISO standard in defining the means to be employed to that end.

CMM's Five Maturity Levels of Software Processes

At the initial level, processes are disorganized, even chaotic. Success is likely to depend on individual efforts, and is not considered to be repeatable, because processes would not be sufficiently defined and documented to allow them to be replicated.

At the repeatable level, basic project management techniques are established, and successes could be repeated, because the requisite processes would have been made established, defined, and documented.

At the defined level, an organization has developed its own standard software process through greater attention to documentation, standardization, and integration.

At the managed level, an organization monitors and controls its own processes through data collection and analysis.

At the optimizing level, processes are constantly being improved through monitoring feedback from current processes and introducing innovative processes to better serve the organization's particular needs.


John N

From India, Madras
This discussion thread is closed. If you want to continue this discussion or have a follow up question, please post it on the network.
Add the url of this thread if you want to cite this discussion.

About Us Advertise Contact Us
Privacy Policy Disclaimer Terms Of Service

All rights reserved @ 2020 Cite.Co™