Sudipto Choudhury
Hi All,

Please help me out. I work in a IT Company> its a small one with no HR. So i cant consult any one rather than questioning my busy boss. I am a novice in all these leave policies and dont know the exact laws and what benit i must be getting as per law so far leaves are concerned.

Could you please help me out understanding (i have lots of questions and doubts ) the leave rules as per our Comapny's Pro-rata basis.

Please rectify my doubts and notify me where i am going wrong in order to search for some rest from work.

Rules we follow:

1. In a year 13 Festive Holidays.

2. No SL, ML or other *L.

3. WeeklyHoliday - 1 (Sunday) i.e. 6 Working days a week (** But we need to earn these Weekly Holidays as per the Formulae below)

** Weekly Paid Holidays :

Calculation :

1. We earn WEEKLY HOLIDAY as per pro-rata basis. The formula is : On Each Month :

Earned Weekly Holidays = No.Of Sundays/No.of TotalWorkingDays * Total DaysPresent

Sample Data :

Apr-2008 -- 26(TotalWorkingDays)-----24(TotalDaysPresent)---4(sundays)--2--(Absent) -- 4/26=0.15 ---- 0.15*24=3.85

So Instead of 4 Weekly Holidays (sundays) i get 3.85 Weekly Holidays. But i cant work for the 4.00-3.85 = 0.15 on sunday. Hence, i get a nominal without pay if 0.15 from my SALARY.

Please verify if it is ok. I am not expecting much. But the message i receive underlying in this POLICY is that "I CANT TAKE ANY LEAVE IN A MONTH". IF I TAKE ONE DAY LEAVE I WILL BE TAXED!!!! What ever nominal be it.":confused:

But Please Read ON because i would like to relate this earned Weekly Holiday With Earned Paid Leave :

RULE : 1 Paid Earned Leave per 12 days. ( Remember here that this is the only leave that we get, we dont have SL. CL etc.etc.)

So taking again the above data as i worked for 24 days i have eared 2 Leaves:

24/12 = 2

which i have spent also taking leave (which i termed as absent for ease of understanding)

NOW: What balance remains in my hand ?