scarletmist5
I have been working with a company for almost 9 months now. They do not pay salaries regularly and they owe me about 4.5 months salary. I have resigned but they want me to serve notice period and are unwilling to adjust with pending salaries. Please advice.
From India, Mumbai
BSSV

Demand for the pay and have negotiation, strictly saying if they can not pay you will adopt legal means to get your pay...... yourself can send a notice demanding pay with interest and for F&F, mentioning you are resigning the job immediately if the pay not paid in 15days..... and ask them for full and final settlement....... it's the default of the employer, 4.5 months is unreasonable......
but, this is the biggest crisis of small business establishments. They fail in turnovers. When they get some project to work upon, employees start to leave for the same reason as yours, and they fail to afford the new employees..... this mostly happened because of their improper planning and also cost of extravaganzas they incur when their turnover was good, saving for the rainy is just the human concept rather corporate......

From India, Bangalore
saswatabanerjee

Legally speaking,by not paying your salary on time, your employers have violated the terms of employment and therefore you are free to leave with immediate effect. Once the terms have been violated, under the Indian contract act, The contract comes to an end and none of the terms hold true.
So, the only rights left under the contract of employment is that you have a right to take legal action a against them for non-payment of salaries.
In any case, is it likely best they are all going to be you and the balance salary? Do you think then they will be a that to you when you leave? Looking at the past history or even the current situation, it does not seem likely. So why bother to add here to their instructions on notice period? Just walk off to your new job and write off this as a bad experience.