Anonymous
Hi Everyone!
I am working in a small company where I am taking care of recruitment, and employee records.
One of the employee who works in our company kept leave for 8 days in last month and now he is asking me to calculate those days as a medical leave. He didn't intimate me before he kept a leave when I call him he told that he is sick. Even at that time he didn't ask me for medical leave. He went to his home town and came back after 7 days. How should I treat this situation? He is the important person in the company and if he is not there all the technical work will be in hold we cant even run the business .
I'm totally new to this field. Please help me with this situation.
If we should give him a medical leave then what are the particulars we need from the employee?
Thanks in advance
Divya

From India, Hyderabad
victorjays

Hi Divya
The basic discipline can be never be compromised with whatever skills that the person is possessing. Kindly ask him gently to produce the proof for Medical treatment since the days of absent is more. You need to refer your company's leave policy. Be gentle and at the same time be very firm. Pl take guidance with your reporting boss

From India, Coimbatore
Ashutosh Thakre

Hi Divya,
One cannot simply prefer leaves as per their wish. You need to ask and verify the Medical certificates from him. Also inform the manager that this is to maintain the decorum in the business. One person cannot be over all the organisational policies.
Regards,
Ashutosh Thakre

From India, Mumbai
hari1988s

Hiii
Being HR you should very strict when it comes to HR policies.Make he understand and counsel him regards to the policies.For now ask him to produce with the medical certificate and mark him leave but be sure that next he will not repeat the same.
Harish Kumar

From India, Hyderabad
amirtha12varshini

Divya,