No Tags Found!

vishwanathsp
Dear all

I am a new member of this forum, hence forgive me if I am asking a question which might have been answered.

I worked for a company say X, @ bangalore which has pf account with rpfc, for 2 yrs, 2 months and then i joined Y, which has its own pf trust. I tried transferring pf from X to Y. Which never got transferred. after about 2 years at Y, i joined Z and worked there for close 2.5 years. All these years @ Y and Z, whenever I followed up with X about fund transfer, I was told it is under process. Now I filed an RTI query and figured out that there is some issue @ RPFC, and they say, their records show fund transferred to Y, but are not able to trace the funds and hence want me to reapply. And Y has multiple times cofirmed that no funds were received

For past 2.5 years, I have been an independent consultant, so i have no active pf account to transfer the pf now. Also now my pf is lying with all three companies, and now I realise that any withdrawal will be taxed - obviously it is going to be a big chunk.

Can some one suggest the best option available for me?

1. Can i get tax exempt because for almost 2 yrs and 8 months now, I am not an employee any where?

2. I could not transfer the pf to into one account because of some unknown issue at rpfc which is not under my control, so can i get tax exemption

3. Shall I take up a job or wait for possible few more years, till I am part of a company where i will start getting a salary and hence will have a pf account, and

that time i can retry entire circus and hope things go fine..

I am also wondering if I can drag rpfc to consumer court,

Any guidance in this regard is a great help.

Thanks and regards

-Vishwa.

From India, Bangalore
sumitk.saxena

Dear Vishwa,
Greetings for the day,
1) As stated by you that EPF accumulation withdrawn is subject to taxable , i will quote that no tax liability is on withdrawn of epf/eps accumulation.