aps7189

Hi, I'm an MBA student, 2nd sem. I'm at that stage where I need to choose my specialization and i m confused.
my main is HR and the second one which I intend to opt for is MARKETING.
will this both fields help me grow in my career or actually fade. Is marketing good for hr in an organization because I'm getting my summer internship in PRODUCT MARKETING? so if I go with marketing and after some years down the line I switched to hr will it be possible?
please help me out I m in a DILEMMA

From India, Vadodara
saiconsult

In modern business environment,the distinction between the skills specific to a particular discipline is getting blurred.For example, HR skills are all pervasive. even if you are a marketing guy or a technical guy at the shop floor, you need to have fair degree of HR skills of people management like communication, empathy, team building, interpersonal and motivation etc. when you lead a team. Similarly a HR officer shall need to know the marketing skills of selling his company among new recruits to rope them in from the competitive employment market and to negotiate with them to accept the offer and join the company or selling the HR initiatives to internal customers who are the employees and other supervisors & managers..Thus the skills are becoming transferable. Therefore you need not worry much about the combinations. You need to know as to which career you love to embrace and what are your strengths that help you progress in that career.You can sit and coolly think and take call.

Hope this helps

B.Saikumar

In-House HR & IR Advisor

From India, Mumbai
Ashutosh Thakre

Hi,