Entrepreneur
I have 5 years of diverse work experience. Of these the last 2.5 years as a consultant through my own start-up HR firm. I then enrolled into a 2 yr full time MBA.
The problem - Until now, I always believed I had a pretty strong work experience and shall not have trouble getting placed post MBA. However, Things are now quite different than I had believed. Rather exact opposite.
The 2.5 years of entrepreneurial work exp. is not being considered as a work exp. by most organs. and as a gap instead. This leaves me with only 2.5 yrs of prior exprn, which are into diverse role and not into pure HRM.
I am absolutely clueless about what I must do now. I am looking for a role in recruitment (non-consultant) or a generalist profile.
Please advice

From India, Bangalore
Entrepreneur
I have 5 years of diverse work experience. Of these the last 2.5 years as a consultant through my own start-up HR firm. I then enrolled into a 2 yr full time MBA.
The problem - Until now, I always believed I had a pretty strong work experience and shall not have trouble getting placed post MBA. However, Things are now quite different than I had believed. Rather exact opposite.
The 2.5 years of entrepreneurial work exp. is not being considered as a work exp. by most organs. and as a gap instead. This leaves me with only 2.5 yrs of prior exprn, which are into diverse role and not into pure HRM.
I am absolutely clueless about what I must do now. I am looking for a role in recruitment (non-consultant) or a generalist profile.
Please advice

From India, Bangalore
Cite Contribution

Greetings,
I beg to differ with what you have concluded. Not that, what have been told to you, stands inaccurate. I believe , it needs to be set in the right perspective.
Industry per se adheres to the right-fit model for any talent acquisition. Hence, you received the feedback. However, to land a job which is best suited to your competencies, you may need to focus on what you are applying.