No Tags Found!

vishalsri09

Hi,
I am working in IT industry and I work 5 days a week.
My date of joining organisation : 09.04.2007
My Last working day in organisation : 05.03.2012
Since I am not completing 5 years, my company is not willing to pay gratuity amount due to me. As I have gone through different websites,I found a person who has worked 4 years 240 days becomes eligible for gratuity payment, though I didn't find any supporting clause or section. If this is true then I believe I am eligible for gratuity payment.
Can I request your expertise here as I have no knowledge on subject? Am I eligible or not? If yes, can you provide some suporting doc which I can forward to my company so as they pay my gratuity amount.
Many thanks in adavnce.
Regards,
Vishal Srivastava

From United Kingdom
saiseven

Dear Vishal
You have no doubt completed 4 years by 8th April 2011. Since you have resigned on 5-3-2012, you should have also worked for 240 days during the twelve month period from 4-3-2011 to 5-3-2012 to be eligible for gratuity. However any leave with wages availed by you during the said period of 12 months will be included in calculating 240 days.
B.Saikumar
HR & Labour Law consultant
Chipinbiz Consultancy. Pvt.Ltd
Mumbai
Tel: 09930532927

From India, Mumbai
vishalsri09

Thanks Sai for your response.
I don't think I have availed leave in excess of 15 days which includes my casual, sick and Annual leave.
If you take that as well for accounting then even though it comes more than 240 days which makes me feel i am eligible. What do you think?
Can you please share some documental proof which states that a person who has served 4 years and 240 days in any organisation is also eligible for gratuity payment?
Is this required as I need to show my company that I am eligible?
Thanks again for your kind help.
Regards,
Vishal Srivastava

From United Kingdom
hr_2572
Hi,
Pl refer the book "BARE ACT Gratuity Act" for documentary proof. This book is legally valid.